Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Questions/Clarifications

Hello All!

I'm new to building my own cooling loops and have been doing my research but I have some unanswered questions left that I would like to get a better understanding of before I make my parts purchase in the new year. I'm not a major overclocker but I do like to get a bit more than stock out of what I have.

First the hardware I want to cool:
    - Threadripper 1920x (eventually will upgrade to a 3XXX or 4XXX series)
    - 2080 Ti (maybe a second in the future)

Now a few questions:

1) I was looking at the following DazMode kit: https://www.dazmode.com/store/shop/w...t-rev-8-intel/. Obviously I'd get it with a Threadripper block instead of the Intel, but my core question is if it's a good place to start for my needs or is there a different setup you might recommend to someone building their first loop? Also is there anything in that kit (minus the block for the GPU) that I should look at getting to add to the kit?

2) Is a single 360mm rad enough for both parts? Some places say it's fine, others say I should be looking at something closer to 2 240mm rads.

3) I've been researching fluids that are available. Personally, I think going with a premix is the right thing for me at this point but I'd be interested in if people think someone new should stick to clear premixes rather than the dyed ones? There seems to be some sort of a split on opinions and to be honest not all give very clear reasoning for their stance (shocker on the web right?), so it's something I'm very confused on at this point.

4) Related to 3, but are the premix lifetimes that some give considered accurate? They seem to have some varying numbers with some saying 1 year and a couple I saw saying up to 5 years of usage before replacing. 5 seems awesome, but also maybe not true in reality?