Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bitfenix Prodigy ITX build advice

Merry Christmas Eve gentlemen!

Recently, I bought some ITX stuff from a forum member (MRDCanadian). The plan was to throw together a second system, so I don't get nerd withdrawal if I have to take down my main system for maintenance. I bought a near-complete system from him, which came with a Bitfenix Prodigy ITX case. Here's the parts list:

Bitfenix Prodigy ITX case
    Asus P8Z77-I motherboard + 3750K CPU + Bitspower CPU / mobo combo block
    Corsair CX750M semi-modular PSU
    240mm XSPC crossflow radiator
    D5 strong pump + XSPC cube res
    Sapphire Radeon 7950 from my previous system
    Mushkin Cronos 120GB SSD

I've never built a system this small before. I've been toying with it for the past few days, trying to figure out how to lay it all out. This will NOT be a pretty build. The case doesn't have windows (thank god), so no one will see the mess therein. But I would like to make it as tidy as I can without using custom cables. This is where I'm at so far:

GPU side:

Messy side:

I mounted the fans outside the case, because unfortunately they interfere with the GPU fittings when mounted on the inside:

So my question to those with experience in small builds is: how can I do this as neat as possible? Also, is there any way to get a 3.5" HDD in there without using the HDD cages? I have 5.25" mounting rails for the HDD, but that won't fit in the 5.25 bay for some reason. Plus even if it did, I can't see how I'd get the SATA power / data cables connected. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, as usual! Merry Christmas all!

Bart