Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• :stuck: Build a motherboard tray? :stuck:

Hey all!

So I've been doing a little googling... and I found a few articles on how to "build your own motherboard tray (atx 12"x9.6")." I just wanted to if anyone had any experience doing it and wouldn't mind sharing a few tips as I'll be attempting this within the next week or so using a 1/16" thick aluminium sheet...

I've also got a few spares motherboard trays lying around but I'd prefer to make my current project a genuine "scratch build".

Thank for your help in advance!
    Last edited by GoatHornz; 11-26-2013, 02:35 AM.

I have no experience with such things sorry.
    Sentinel Build: Build Log,
    Venom Build: Build Log,
    Silent Sniper Build: Final Video,
    Orange Build: Final Video
    HTPC Build: Final Video

Comment

You should probably be able to find a template for ATX hole locations (the most important part) somewhere. If not use a known ATX motherboard to mark off hole locations to drill.

Get a jig saw that uses a T-Shank, which is the most common type/cheapest blade. An 18 TPI metal blade like a Bosch 118a works well. I use these for thin acrylic and steel/aluminum.

You can also use a table saw but if you don't already have one they can be expensive for a decent model, as well as more expensive blades. The jig saw is what you'd use to cut the aluminum to size/shape. You can use a Dremel but that will take longer and requires more precision and practice to get nearly straight lines.

You'll also need some metal files to file down and straighten the sharp edges after you've cut metal, otherwise you will bleed profusely.

You'll also need a drill with a few 1/8" bits to drill holes that can be used for 6-32 screws. 6-32 screws are usually what mobo standoffs use, as well as PCI slot cover screws, 3.5" hard disks, etc... I say a few drill bits because your standard drill bits dull quickly cutting through aluminum or steel.