Black Mamba

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Black Mamba

Hi there everyone. I'm new here but not new to computers. I have built, upgraded, repaired, hundreds of computers over the years. Up until now they have all used AIO cooling units. There was no such thing as starting kits during those years so I never took the leap until now. My new build was actually started back in Dec '12 - Jan '13. It has been a real struggle for me and I have never had to RMA as many components in my entire life. In fact the amount of RMA's for this build is pretty well equal to all the RMA's I have ever done. By the way I don't do this for a living but it is my hobby. Needless to say I could actually do this for a living if I were so inclined but it would be a large cut in pay for me.
    To start things off I was looking to build the ultimate computing system that was a real workhorse and also an exceptional gaming system at the same time. I already have an Asus RIVE system and that is what I'm using right now. I did a lot of research looking for all of the right components to give me the best of both worlds.
    We'll start off with my list of hardware:
    ASRock X79 Extreme11 MB > has integrated LSI chip for 8 extra 6Gb/s sata ports > All PCIe slots are 16X Gen3 supports 16x/16x/16x/16x 4-way crossfire or sli compatible.
    Intel LGA 2011 3970X CPU > newest Chip just out.
    G-Skill RipjawsZ 64GB 2400 twin Quad set F3-19200CL10Q2-64GBZHD > designed for X79 systems
    Enermax Fulmo GT Full Tower case > very big and lots of bling for something really different
    EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classified x4 > The 690 was just released at that time and was equivalent to dual 670's per card
    OCZ Vertex 4 512GB x2 Raid0, 4x 1TB (Raid10), 2x 2TB, 1x 4TB, WD Cav/Blk drives. running Acronis bi-weekly backups.
    EVGA NEX1500W PSU > biggest one on the market at that time.
    Corsair H100i AIO CPU cooler > Just before all the newer competition came out.