plasti-dip tips wanted

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• plasti-dip tips wanted

I'm masking off parts of a fan, to put a pattern on it for my Archon build. From what I've read, it seems like a lot of people do a light coat of plasti-dip, let it set up for 15 min, do another moderate coat, then pull the masking tape before it dries.

I've never used this stuff before, so I'd appreciate some expert advice I'd like to get this right the first time, as it proving to be a painstaking task to mask this elaborate pattern! Hopefully it will turn out nice. After all, I did take an art class in grade 6

You will need more than 2 coats

For my build or plasti-dip project

I always use 4 or more coats
    Let it dry 24 hours and use a good knife and cut the plastidip where is the masking tape and remove the tape
    Last edited by snef; 11-14-2014, 01:27 PM.

Comment

Thanks snef, I appreciate the advice. Do you have pics in any of your build logs where you did this? I'd like to see how intricate a pattern is possible.

I was hoping to avoid doing it this way. The pattern is really detailed and it will be painful to go over it again exactly, plus I'm concerned about unbalancing the fan by going too heavy (as the pattern isn't perfectly symmetrical).

Have you ever tried the technique I described?

Comment

Also, is there any advantage to plasti-dip other than peeling it off if need be? By the time I go over the fan blades a couple of times with a knife, it might no longer look so great if I end up reverting it to stock anyway. So paint might be an option if it would be easier to peel off the tape without having to use the knife, as long as the paint doesn't come with it.

Comment

I never use plastidip for complicated thing

but im sure 2 coat is not enough specially with white

but I cut the republic of gamer logo on my motherboard

Comment