Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to Water Cooling: First Build Help (Picking Parts)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Water Cooling: First Build Help (Picking Parts)

Hey guys, I'm new to water-cooling. I've never before installed a custom loop. Previously, I've used Corsair H100i's in most of my rigs. The newest one features a GTX 780 Lightning and a Corsair 900D case so I've got all the room in the world.

For the moment, I'm probably just looking to do a CPU (non complex) loop, but with the availability for future (easy and not too pricey) expansion to the GPU.

What parts *exactly* do I need? I'm looking at mainly a $400 budget right now, most likely. Going for a red/black/white color scheme, if that matters right now. Brands I like: EK and Raystorm! Only real request outside of that is a tubed reservoir, particularly one that isn't puny & potentially angled fittings!

Thanks for any and all help! Hoping to get more familiar with water cooling in the meantime by checking out articles and YouTube videos. Again, if possible, can you list ALL parts needed (number of fittings, adapters, etc etc.) Basically don't know where to begin, lol.

Much appreciated.

to the community and your new addiction.

Any of the kits Daz sells are a great starter.
    The ones with the triple(360) rads would be enough for a CPU and room to add a block for your GPU later on.
    Daz's Darkside Complete TRIPLE Radiator - D5 Pump - Flex Kit looks like the best choice to me.

However you could spend closer to your $400 buy custom ordering each piece.
    If you want a tube res you'll need to buy your pieces individually.

Best thing you can do is watch some of Daz's watercooling videos posted at his store in each section to learn about pumps, rads, blocks, fittings, reservoirs etc...
    Educated buying will save you money.
    Blue Dragon CM690 II an i7 - 960 x58 build